Originally built in 1838 our church and halls have a rich history and have been central to life in Ballygowan for over 100 years.
'Trinity Presbyterian Church'
Built in 1838 as a Trinitarian" Presbyterian Church. At this time the 'Old Light' versus 'New Light' debate was at its height. The Church, originally on the outskirts of the village, now occupies a central position as it has become surrounded by the recent village expansion.
Originally erected as an orphanage in 1886 then used as the village primary school until 1980's when the new Alexander Dickson Primary School was built.
Microfilm of Ballygowan Presbyterian Church Registers are held
in the Public Records office under reference MIC 1P/406 and
contain Baptisms, 1870-97 and Marriages, 1845-1900